Drennan Double Strength

The place you will find all those traditional terminal tackle items.
Mark
Head Bailiff

Drennan Double Strength

Post by Mark »

I have purchased a spool of 6lb Drennan Double Strength to try out on a reel at the weekend. I have never used this reel line before so can any of you recommend it, is it as good as they say in the reviews.
Mark (Administrator)

The most precious places in the English landscape are those secretive corners,
where you find only elder trees, nettles and dreams. (BB - Denys Watkins-Pitchford).

Santiago
Wild Carp

Re: Drennan Double Strength

Post by Santiago »

I guess you'll be using a centrepin! Ideally one uses such line on a fixed spool reel with the clutch set lightly, because of the low stretch. Moreover, a through action rod is also recommended, so avoid using on rods with a test curve above 11/4lb. Otherwise it can snap like cotton. Not a line for bullying fish or near feed and snags, because the low stretch means one requires one to allow the fish to run ; especially carp and barbel. I used the stuff once! Possibly better as a hooklink than a main line.
"....he felt the gentle touch on the line and he was happy"

Hemingway

Mark
Head Bailiff

Post by Mark »

I am thinking about trying it out on a Mitchell 300 for the chub Trevor.
Mark (Administrator)

The most precious places in the English landscape are those secretive corners,
where you find only elder trees, nettles and dreams. (BB - Denys Watkins-Pitchford).

SeanM
Tench

Post by SeanM »