One Zephyr float... or three?

The place you will find all those traditional terminal tackle items.
Wagtail
Arctic Char

One Zephyr float... or three?

Post by Wagtail »

Amongst some floats lurking in the bottom of a box of tackle bought at a boot sale were these three little darlings.

One is a Zepyr 6" (it says so on the side), but are the other two Zephyrs as well? No name on them but made from paper rolled around fine cane stems. Any thoughts Gents? :Hat:

'The Chub is a very controversial fish. He has a strong army of supporters, but he has an almost equally strong army of detractors. The trouble is that the detractors do not know what they are talking about'. L. Vernon-Bates

Paul F
Sea Trout

Re: One Zephyr float... or three?

Post by Paul F »

no, the other 2 are home made Alex, the one you have is a scarce match float, very delicate :Wink:

Richard Jackson
Brown Trout

Post by Richard Jackson »

I am by no means an expert but i think the other 2 are homemade floats
I spend most of my life fishing the Rest i just waste

Harry H
Tench

Post by Harry H »

I would say 1 the other 2's wraps look too wide apart,nice find though :Thumb:
There are three things that improve with age: wine, friendship and water sense, and there's no short cut.
Anthony Shepherdson

Wagtail
Arctic Char

Post by Wagtail »

Paul F wrote: Sun Apr 29, 2018 9:37 pm the one you have is a scarce match float, very delicate :Wink:
Which is why I was amazed to find it in one piece as it was loose at the bottom of a large plastic storage box with all sorts of other tackle, boxes and tins rattling around on top of it :Thumb:

Gents thanks for your input, I wondered if they were home made, or if the quality control at Zephyr deteriorated as time went on!

Cheers :Hat:
'The Chub is a very controversial fish. He has a strong army of supporters, but he has an almost equally strong army of detractors. The trouble is that the detractors do not know what they are talking about'. L. Vernon-Bates