Pre-tied hooks to nylon.

The place you will find all those traditional terminal tackle items.
MaggotDrowner
Zander

Pre-tied hooks to nylon.

Post by MaggotDrowner »

How many of us here use hooks to nylon and how many tie their own? I only use them in size 16 and 18 to 2-3lb ish line. Any bigger and I generally tie hook links myself. I find hooks to nylon really reliable though and they are so quick and easy. Perhaps I'm just lazy?
"I'd rather be fishing!"

MD

DaceAce
Eel

Re: Pre-tied hooks to nylon.

Post by DaceAce »

I've been tying my own since about 1975, at home with an old Eze-Tie machine, or on the bank with a Matchman hook tier. I use spade ends from 10s down to 24 (have tied down to 30!). I get the choice of hooks I want that way far greater than the few available ready-tied and I can choose not only the hook but also the line.

Snape
Bailiff

Post by Snape »

On the rare occasions I use size 16 or 18 hooks usually for gudgeon fishing I use hook to nylon otherwise I rarely use below a size 10 hook so I tie the on.
“Fishing is much more than fish. It is the great occasion when we may return to the fine simplicity of our forefathers,” Herbert Hoover.
`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸ ><((((º>

Santiago
Wild Carp

Post by Santiago »

I tie all my own. Often for a finer presentation I will use sizes 16-20 in spade end, and tie them with a Matchman Hook Tier. When feeder fishing at night I may change the hook or hooklink a dozen times for a variety of reasons, so hook to nylons are just impractical. Also, I often like to tie the hook direct to the mainline.
"....he felt the gentle touch on the line and he was happy"

Hemingway

Nobby
Wild Carp

Post by Nobby »

In the line-up for fingers God gave me pork sausages!

Of course I use hooks to nylon, especially in the small sizes, just watch that your disgorger hasn't damaged the knot...lost a 2lb plus roach like that once......

Dave Burr
Honorary Vice President

Post by Dave Burr »