The river Idle

This forum belongs to the other rivers.
Fred Bonney
Perch

Re: The river Idle

Post by Fred Bonney »

Not any really old memories as i'm new to the Idle, but 3 years ago had some pound plus fish stret pegging worm down the inside line at Haxey in "flood".
The river does have a habit of not fishing when they close the gates down stream and the river stops!

New stretch available to me this coming season, so I'll give it another go.

I'm sure Ron C. has a few tales to tell.

Flightliner

Post by Flightliner »

Lovely lovely little river, My club as the rights to a short strech of it and some years ago it was turning some big roach up to me on trotted flake.
Sadly they have been decimated by comorants but I suspect that there are still one or two pockets of fish like Fred as shown.
I walked a stretch the other day and was surprised at how many pike there were in relatively short distances between each sighting. Not many prey fish were seen but the odd Barbel "flashing" and chub were plentiful.
Over the years I have come to regret not fishing the Idle more when I was younger but largely ignored it for the Trent, Witham and fen drains.
I did fish it tho towards the mid sixties below Bawtry and at Misson where I had some good times on float gear.
One thing that seems to have changed over the last ten years or so is the profusion of streamer weed that is choking the upper reaches, once you could trot the stream but now its nigh on impossible.
Must be all the fertilisers and nitrates, its the same on the Witham in the warmer monthes but on the idle its all year round.

SeanM
Tench

Post by SeanM »