Just joined the Traditional Fisherman's Forum, why not pop into this forum and introduce yourself.
Wallis Wizard

Post by Wallis Wizard »

Hi all I am new to TFF and would like to introduce myself.
My introduction to traditional angling started over fifty years ago, when as a youngster I used to fish a small local pond that held a good head and variety of fish. Whilst like most youngsters trying to get to grips with the noble art, a local legend,(hero to me) took me under his wing, I can see him now walking to the pool in a long mohair overcoat, plus extra pockets, small wooden stool in one hand and split cane rod, made up in the other, his tackle spread around the many pockets, sadly now old Bob is long gone, I was greatful to him for his teaching, but even more by him giving me his split cane rod, a 'Sealey Tudor Supreme', I still own this rod although it is in need of some tlc,I have recently retired and now hope to refurb the Sealey to its former glory.
I fish now mainly for Carp and Barbel, not for me the modern power sticks, rather using the cane rods by B. James and glass rods of Alan Brown that I have acquired over the years, teamed up where possible with 'pins' or my trusty '300s'.
I have,over the years fished a variety of waters, the Severn(upper), Dane, Dove, and Ribble, Stillwaters in most counties around the country, I have not yet managed to dangle in that fabled pool called Redmire, but there's still time for that.
I am looking forward to sharing any information of interest that I have picked up over my near sixty year apprenticeship and to hearing of some of your exploits/adventures.
Thank you to Mark for giving me this opportunity.
All the best
Steve

Duebel
Rainbow Trout

Re: New member

Post by Duebel »

Welcome to the TFF, Steve!

I'm sure, you've got a lot of knowledge to share with us.

Greetings from Bamberg

Martin

SkimmingTheCream
Chub

Post by SkimmingTheCream »

Welcome to the TFF Steve

AshbyCut
Honorary President

Post by AshbyCut »