hello

Just joined the Traditional Fisherman's Forum, why not pop into this forum and introduce yourself.
Darrrren

hello

Post by Darrrren »

Hello everyone. Just introduce myself. Im 27 from south wales, fished since I was about 11, all self taught. Caught my first fish on my first ever go, a trout from a pool at the local river, very hard fishing so I did well. Over the years I went onto learn myself at the local lakes, went into the pole craze for a while then onto the specimen carp. I've also been in the army for 10 years so time on the bank is limited, which is what brings me here. I started getting sick of all the gear, pods, alarms, and so on. Last year i caught a few PBs for the carp but also did a bit with just a net, a float rod, and a small tin of bits. I enjoyed fishing this way alot,nice and simple, and I could get to the lake or canal on an evening, be set up in no time, move easily around the water, and pack up in minutes. This year im focusing on simple fishing. One rod, a net, few floats and hooks and the elements. I got myself an old milbro rod, an old Mitchell reel, and I've just ordered Paul Duffield's book to have a go making my own. This tear I intend to target tench on the canal using the lift method. As I saw many tench over 5lb last year just couldn't get a bite in the gin clear water. Regards, darren.

Aitch
Pike

Re: hello

Post by Aitch »

Welcome, Sir :Hat:
Just one more cast love, and I'll be on me way home

Leave nothing but footprints, take nothing but pictures and memories

Crafty Carassius
Ruffe

Post by Crafty Carassius »

Welcome, Young 'Un . . . Tight Lines all the way!

Barbulus
Tench

Post by Barbulus »

Welcome to the TFF.....

Wallys-Cast
Pike

Post by Wallys-Cast »

Welcome aboard Darren, nice to see some young blood getting into the finer things in life.

Wal.

Mark
Head Bailiff

Post by Mark »

Welcome to the forum Darren.
Mark (Administrator)

The most precious places in the English landscape are those secretive corners,