Hello all

Just joined the Traditional Fisherman's Forum, why not pop into this forum and introduce yourself.
Arjan
Stickleback

Hello all

Post by Arjan »

Hello All,

First I would like to thank the staff for letting me in. Guess they didn't know what they've done...
My name is Arjan, I live in the Netherlands (Gouda, where the cheese is not from, because cows don't thrive in an urban environment) and besides fishing occasionally, I work as a sysadmin while I originally started out as a biologist. That makes perfect sense, until I start explaining.
Fishing has been the real red thread in my life. I started when I could barely walk and I still fish like I did when I was a lad.
Cane was widely used, in the form of Japanese poles where I'm from, but split cane was something for the happy few. Fly fishing only started late, and the first splitcane rods used and produced on Dutch soil were, as far as I know, coarse rods built after WW2. One of the names of the past was Jan Schreiner. He tried, succesfully, to get people use rods and fixed spool reels. He introduced the Dutch anglers to various types of spin and coarse rods and he did something else too: he held on strictly to the point of using material as strong as needed, but as light as possible. That's been my approach to fishing for the past 20-odd years.