Squeaky Exalta

The Hardy Reels forum.
SharkBoy
Perch

Squeaky Exalta

Post by SharkBoy »

Hi guys when cranking the handle of my Exalta I am hearing a metal on metal noise every time the reel revolves (something rubbing) ... would it be anything to worry about ? Advise please all the best

Watermole+
Chub

Re: Squeaky Exalta

Post by Watermole+ »

I am no expert on the Hardy Exalta, but if you can feel and hear metal grinding on metal when you turn the handle, then stop turning the handle!
In answer to your question..Yes, it would be something to worry about.

The best plan would be firstly to remove the line spool and gently turn the handle a little way. If the grinding is still there, you have to take the side cover off and investigate inside. If something has come loose or detached,it should be fairly obvious and can be put right.

If I can offer some advice..If the metal-to-metal contact has been going on for anything more than a minute, there is a fairly good chance that flakes of metal are floating around the insides, ready to do further damage, so it will be necessary to completely disassemble, wash everything off in solvent and rebuild with fresh "Reel-X" grease.. Don't take a chance on 'everything should be alright'...it's never worth it.

Regards,

wm+

"Are not two sparrows sold for a farthing? Yet one of them shall not fall without your Father knoweth" ..Jesus of Nazareth, King James AV

Nobby
Wild Carp

Post by Nobby »

Some of the worst reel squeaks come from the plastic handle knob running dry on its mounting screw...but yes, try it with the spool off first.

If it still rubs, find a way of opening the bail arm a tiny, tiny amount ( maybe sticky tape or a cocktail stick?) and try again.

After that it's inside to the gears I'm afraid.

SharkBoy
Perch

Post by SharkBoy »

Cheers

SharkBoy
Perch

Post by SharkBoy »