17 ft split cane salmon rod conversion.

Just built or restored a cane rod or need some advise then let us know in here.
John M
Bleak

17 ft split cane salmon rod conversion.

Post by John M » Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:19 pm

gents I would like to put a question to the forum rod builders if I may, I have no experience of working on them and not much more actually using them.

I have seen a 17' salmon rod for sale made of split cane that looks very clean and straight, and If it wasn't for the handle I would not know it was a salmon rod. What I am wondering is what is stopping someone removing the handle for a traditional shaped cork handle and then swapping all the rings as well so that it became a 17' trotting rod? Would the action not be suitable to trotting? never fished for salmon so I don't know the differences in the performances of the rods.

many thanks.
As no man is born an artist,
so no man is born an angler.

Izaak Walton 1593-1683

Ljm183
Tench

Re: 17 ft split cane salmon rod conversion.

Post by Ljm183 » Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:36 pm

A 17ft all split cane rod will be very heavy and in my opinion not usable as a trotting rod. Unless of coarse you are a body builder and workout 10 hours a day.

Tengisgol
Tench

Post by Tengisgol » Tue Dec 26, 2017 6:49 pm

I would tend to agree. Perhaps if it is four sections, you could abandon the butt and put a cork handle on the bottom of the third section. That would make it about thirteen feet by my reckoning but it still wouldn't make a great trotting rod due to its all through action.

Salmon rods tend to have a taper that make great rods for playing fish like barbel and chub but not fast on the strike. I have a Hardy rod that I converted, when I first started messing around with cane, and it is fantastic rod to take a fish on plus the original cane and craftsmanship is incredible. But it's a lot of work when you can purchase something made for the job and not too expensively.
Where the willows meet the water...