Another very talented British Rod Maker on the TFF

Just built or restored a cane rod or need some advise then let us know in here.
Paul F
Tench

Another very talented British Rod Maker on the TFF

Post by Paul F » Sun May 20, 2018 9:30 pm

Last year I commissioned our own Watermole+ to make me a centrepin, which I named Rutilus Rutilus as it was designed as the perfect roach reel.

I have plenty of lovely vintage rods which are all suitable for roach, but what I really wanted was what I thought would be the perfect modern cane roach rod, slim, light in the hand and fast striking.

I have known fellow TFF'er Crucian (Paul) through the forum for about 3yrs, and he has helped and guided me through rod repairs and restoration, a joiner by trade, but generally a pretty clever bloke. :Hat:

I think it was about a year ago (I am sure Paul will correct me if I am wrong) Paul decide to turn his hand to rod making, he has posted some of the rods he has built and repaired, I have noticed over this time how he has got better and more knowledgeable on the various techniques, including the heat treatment, making ferrules and all the fittings.

All the rods to date had been copies of tapers, but back in February Paul worked how to hollow build, he then went on to build his own taper Ideal Roach rod, and I loved it, and I asked if I could commission him to build me my "Rutilus Rutius" :dance2:

Paul agreed and we discussed some modifications for my rod, Paul knows my love for Hardy rods and the lovely cane they used "Palakona" (meaning pale cane) Paul planned to come up with a way of producing a natural pale almost blonde cane, the baking of the cane makes the cane darker, but without giving away his method he managed it :Wink:

Well sorry it was a bit of a long story, but as you can tell I am very pleased and very excited, the only thing is, as I do not fish during the close season I will not get to use it until after 23rd June

The speciifcation