lochnaw

This forum is for discussing roach.
Ian
Eel

lochnaw

Post by Ian »

i previously mentioned on the general coarse fishing chat that four of us are going on a weeks fishing trip to lochnaw.this is my first time trying this venue,though the other three were there last year in september.they didnt fair well and only caught small stuff.lochnaw is famous for producing roach to specimen proportions with 2s and 3s being regularly caught and bigger roach nearing 4lb being a possability.this is a natural water and these fish will be the opitamy of sly.the price isnt cheap and we want to make the most it.were it yourselves,what time of year would you choose to try for a chance to fish for them at their optimum weight,what baits would you choose and what methods.this is a night water so we will be fishing all night.do you think a bait and wait approach or feeder approach.all advice appreciated
Don’t cast doubt,cast out.

Penninelad
Arctic Char

Re: lochnaw

Post by Penninelad »

Lobworms,red worms and brandlings.You do not have to go to Scotland or southern chalk streams to catch 2lb'ers as TFF members in the South Yorkshire/Nottinghamshire area are well aware.
Mark Davies

Wet Feet Pete
Gudgeon

Post by Wet Feet Pete »

There is information online for those big roach, and boilies seem to be the key, these may help, have fun and screaming !! reels

http://www.dynamitebaits.com/news/2013/ ... hnaw-roach

https://www.facebook.com/Lochnaw-Castle ... 284396344/

Tengisgol
Barbel

Post by Tengisgol »

Do you subscribe to Classic Angling? I say that because the editor, Keith Elliott, spent some time there and caught a three pounder.

Keith is a very well known match angler from decades gone by, has travelled the world seeking extraordinary fish, and is very much a friend of the traditional angling scene.