Help needed with net

Made some other form of traditional fishing tackle.
MGs
Pike

Help needed with net

Post by MGs »

If you have read any of my diary entries, you will know that I have a liking, verging on obsession with roach. I have made a couple of landing nets, one triangular carp style and one large hoop. Now that I have been using these for a couple of years, there are some limitations. They are both fine for larger fish. However the available mesh (Snowbee) are both quite deep.

I am considering making a smaller hoop with a shallower, pan type net. Does anyone know where I can source a suitable mesh? The design and size of the hoop is going to be dependent upon what is available, so I can't start the build yet. I'm thinking about something around 18" in diameter and perhaps 12" deep.

Thanks
Old car owners never die....they just rust away

LuckyLuca
Barbel

Re: Help needed with net

Post by LuckyLuca »

Hi MGs. When I've been after nets like that I've just bought modern nets of the right size and removed the netting from them. Places like DragonCarp do pan nets for about £4
I walked across an empty land
I knew the pathway like the back of my hand
I felt the earth beneath my feet
Sat by the river and it made me complete.

MGs
Pike

Post by MGs »

I have had a look, most seem to be a standard 50 x 40cm, which is a bit bigger than I'm looking for. I already have a similar sized modern mess, which I'm using as a weigh bag. I suppose I could unpick all of the stitching and re-sew it. I'm hoping to source something rather than create a lot of work for myself.

Beresford
Sea Trout

Post by Beresford »

Have you looked at nets designed for trout ie. those from game tackle brands?
Last edited by Beresford on Wed Sep 02, 2015 6:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The Split Cane Splinter Group

MGs
Pike

Post by MGs »

I think I may have found something
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/231637691471? ... EBIDX%3AIT