Hello form sunny Essex

Just joined the Traditional Fisherman's Forum, why not pop into this forum and introduce yourself.
Touchwood
Stickleback

Hello form sunny Essex

Post by Touchwood »

Hello to all, I have been fishing for many years (since 1976). However, it is only since August last year that I have solely been using cane rods and other traditional items of tackle.

For the first time in many years, I enjoy going fishing and just being there. For many years I was a carp fisher who sat behind a bank of rods, fired out my bait and waited for the fish to hook themselves on my super-duper must have rigs.

Last summer I found an old Avon cane rod in my fathers shed, no idea where it came from as he wasn’t a fisherman. I took it to my local club water and caught some lovely Tench. The penny dropped and I realised that using a cane rod just felt wonderful. The ability to flick out baits without a lead, the feeling when playing a fish, I was well and truly hooked.

I decided to continue with the traditional tackle, a MKIV Carp rod was purchased from eBay, an old 300 Mitchell reel. Just walking round the lake looking for fish and casting my bread flake, corn or luncheon meat to any signs of fish. If I am lucky enough to have a bite, I really enjoy the fight on my balanced tackle. No more winching in the fish on 3lb test curve rods.

My tackle has now extended to a lovely 11ft wizard style rod, fantastic for my all-round float fishing and Chub fishing. I have rediscovered my local river, The Chelmer, catching beautiful Perch, Roach and Chub. Mind you I have had fun and games using the centrepin reel (a Rapidex). It took me a while not to end up with a birds nest every time I used it.