Trotting in deeper water question.

This forum is for discussing barbel.
Santiago
Wild Carp

Trotting in deeper water question.

Post by Santiago »

I'm planning a barbel fishing trip to a weir and plan to fish the tail, which is about 8-9' deep. The tail itself is fairly slow but either side there's fast water that's equally deep if not deeper. I plan to fish by trotting meat along the bottom just in the creases either side of the tail. I've never done this before. Any advice most welcome.

My main question though is how far from the hook is it best to place the shot? Thanks.
"....he felt the gentle touch on the line and he was happy"

Hemingway

Paul F
Sea Trout

Re: Trotting in deeper water question.

Post by Paul F »

Trevor it will depend how fast the flow is, if it is running through fast you will need the shot nearer the bait.

On the wye i put all my bulk shot, say 3SSG 18" from the hook, i then place 2no 6 or 1no 4 anything from 2-6" from the hook, you will want the meat just tripping the bottom.

Are you planning on using a slider float, or is the depth ok to manage with a 10ft rod?

Santiago
Wild Carp

Post by Santiago »

Cheers Paul, I can manage the depth as I'll be using a modern 121/2 ' waggler rod.
"....he felt the gentle touch on the line and he was happy"

Hemingway

Tengisgol
Barbel

Post by Tengisgol »

I would say not to underestimate how slow the pace is at the bottom compared to the top, so certainly try a few trots holding back so hard almost to a stop.

With regard to the shot, obviously you can move that around and experiment but you can get really heavy really close to the hook if needs be.
Where the willows meet the water...

https://sites.google.com/site/tengisgol/

Olly
Wild Carp

Post by Olly »