Rebuild of my Sharpe Avon - questions

The J. S. Sharpe Ltd rods forum.
NorfolkTinca
Dace

Rebuild of my Sharpe Avon - questions

Post by NorfolkTinca »

Dear all,

I have acquired this rod with some help from Tengisgol; it is my first and only split cane rod - apologies for the lack of photos at this point. I wanted a rod that's good enough that it doesn't require major work, but also something on which I can do some work of my own, and it fits that brief perfectly. This rod does not have its original rings, the cork appears to be brand new, and the blank itself is in very good order. I'm anticipating that this will be a rolling thread as work progresses and new questions arise. So my questions to begin with are:

What exactly is my rod called? I have the words Sharpe, Avon, Scotty and Aberdeen, and I'm not clear on exactly which order they should all appear! (I told you I was a cane novice.) :Scared:

Next, the red alignment dots. Mine are 180 degrees apart - none of my doing I promise! Should they be on the top (opposite the rings) or underneath?

What reel fittings should it have? Mine has some lovely aluminium ones, which may or may not be original, but they are such a snug fit to the cork that I can barely get a reel on, so I'm going to have to change them (I don't want to sand down the cork.)

The butt on my rod ends with a round cork end, but again, I suspect this is not how it should be. I believe it should have a screw-in butt cap (is that the right terminology?) and the Sharpes name on the metal, but finding one could be a challenge. Any help in this respect - including suggestions for a good substitute - appreciated.

Thank you all.
My biggest fish is not necessarily my best

Gudgeon Basher
Dace

Re: Rebuild of my Sharpe Avon - questions

Post by Gudgeon Basher »

NT