Catching a Salmon!

This forum is for discussing salmon.
Santiago
Wild Carp

Catching a Salmon!

Post by Santiago »

I'm relatively new to game fishing and have only so far caught wild brown trout, including two good sized fish from the Thames on coarse fishing tackle. Although I did hook into what appeared to be a salmon (or sea trout) many years ago whilst spinning in the Shetlands for pollack, but the fish jumped and threw the hook.

Anyways, I have to buy a salmon permit in order to fish on an estate in Scotland for brown trout, because salmon are present. Its relatively cheap, only £15 per day. So I thought I might as well try my hand and try to catch one.

The prospect of hooking into one, though, makes me a bit nervy. So to my point, how do salmon fight, and how best does one tame them?
"....he felt the gentle touch on the line and he was happy"

Hemingway

Catfish.017
Eel

Re: Catching a Salmon!

Post by Catfish.017 »

As with all fishing it depends on how big the fish run to and what gear you'll be using . I was fortunate to catch quite a few Salmon during my Sea Trout years, mostly at night on a 10' single handed 7/9 aftm rod. These fish ran from four ponds up to,twelve pounds and without exception fought hard and doggedly, never coming to the net first time, often making a long run down the pool when I thought they were ready to come in . However as most pools on these rivers are generally free of snags (with the possible exception of boulders) I always felt reasonably in control. I would say if you've caught plenty of decent sized Carp you should'nt have any problems . The only one I lost that haunted me for a while after, was I suspect a foul hooked fish that jumped the rapids into the pool below and departed forthwith.

Santiago
Wild Carp

Post by Santiago »