Ferrule question....

The Allcocks Rods forum.
BoltonBullfinch
Arctic Char

Ferrule question....

Post by BoltonBullfinch »

I'm looking to refurb the Harvey Torbett I picked up for 30 quid a few months ago. Both male ferrules had a split lengthways due to corrosion/damp. I'm struggling to find alternative ferrules so I was wondering, if cleaned up, could the splits in the brass ferrules be brazed up, and if so, would they be strong enough.

Thanks
BB
'We fish a lot' Forrest Gump.

Catfish.017
Eel

Re: Ferrule question....

Post by Catfish.017 »

Tricky one that. Could be possible but you would have to create a V shaped recess in the split for there to be some gap to accommodate the braze or maybe silver solder? The strength of the joint isn't really an issue with male ferrules for obvious reasons. I have used rods with split male ferrules quite happily provided they are securely glued.

Hovis
Tench

Post by Hovis »

Hmmmm good question. I'm not an engineer but here's my 2ds worth. Brazing, like welding is reliant on melting (through various means) new material that fuses between the 2 surfaces to be joined. You need some elements of gap between the 2 pieces to ensure a strong bond and flow of material. In the case of a ferrule you'd have to remove additional material to do this to ensure a good joint or open the gap up slightly. It'd be a fraction of an inch that's all. However, given the tolerances of said ferrules they'd need to be remachined to ensure a snug fit. So would it work? Yes with effort, time and skill. Worth it? Probably not. A new set is a more viable option I'd think.
I have laid aside business, and gone a'fishing.

Izaak Walton

EricW
Perch

Post by EricW »