B James mk VI avon

The B. James & Sons Rods forum.
Bobby Marlene
Arctic Char

B James mk VI avon

Post by Bobby Marlene »

Hello everybody, this is my first post, please be mild...
I am quite new to traditional coarse fishing. I do my fishing (float, light ledger) in the polders in The Netherlands, drains, small stillwaters, gravel pits, mainly for roach, perch, bream, tench. I fish a Sealey Octofloat. There are a lot of zander in the waters I fish. I recently aquired a B James mk IV carp rod to fish for zander with it. I am very impressed with the quality of the rod. It made me wonder if I should try to get a mk IV avon rod. But I do not know if the action is suited for my fishing with floats for small to medium sized fish.
Can anybody of you knowledgeable traditionalists help, please.
Thank you very much, best, Bobby

Beresford
Sea Trout

Re: B James mk VI avon

Post by Beresford »

Bobby, hi and welcome to the forum. The MkIV Avon is well suited to light float fishing and ledgering for all sorts of fish and I'd say it would an ideal addition to your collection. Some prefer an 11' rod but given the type of fishing you list I think the 10' rod would be suitable.

Rather like the MkIV Carp rod there are a range of tapers that are all around the same MkIV version but they all vary. The B. James version, or at least my experience of it, results in a rod that feels a bit kind of languid, not in a bad way and this makes it quite a good lighter carp rod. I do feel it's slow to strike. Having seen other versions that were built to Walkers precise taper, I'd say the rod as he intended it to be, is a bit faster and perhaps a bit more tippy in action with more backbone through the mid section of the taper than the B. James version. This might just be my impression, I had and then later sold a very good late 1950's example of the B. James. Good examples of all are very nice rods to use but all slightly different.
The Split Cane Splinter Group

Bobby Marlene
Arctic Char