peaceful sussex lake perching

This forum belongs to other pools and lakes.
Sussex Micky
Arctic Char

peaceful sussex lake perching

Post by Sussex Micky »

I have been fishing a small lake near to where i live for a few years now on and knowing that it held some large perch which are rarely caught I decided to try and catch one. The lake holds a large head of Roach and carp ,but it is the Tench for which I normaly fish for and have had some wonderful early morning sessions with many fish pushing up to six pounds.
The lake is very secluded and a day ticket is charged at seven pounds a day which you can buy at the village post office from 5.30am onwards! There is a steep track winding its way down to the lake which lies in the Brede Valley directly behind the River Brede and it is in a very beautiful setting .. in summer bird calls of nightingale ,cuckoo and warblers can be heard all around
Unfortunately this "paradise"has started to be invaded by a few undesirable litter louts and often the odd empty tin of sweetcorn ect is found after their weekend visits ..Fortunately I am able to fish the lake whithin the week being retired and sometimes I get the lake to myself! even so at the most I normally see is about two other anglers there at times.
After two seasons targeting "Mr Stripey" in between Tenching, I have had somewhat reasonable sucesss and not seeing anyone else target perch there i seem to be lucky that that is so.
My tackle set up normaly consists of two sealy "octofloats" or Chapman 500 teemed up with rapidex centre pins and loaded with eight pounds line, i then use my own perch bobbers and snood a lip hooked live bait of about 3 ins long about one foot from the bottom. ..this is cast out and positioned just a few feet away from the rushes..the perch takes are very fast when it happens and i have noticed a pattern..i will get say two takes in 15 mins then its dead for a long period