slightly puzzled but hey i'm a beginner

The B. James & Sons Rods forum.
Bjp
Chub

slightly puzzled but hey i'm a beginner

Post by Bjp »

i was looking at this listing on that well known auction site
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/B-JAMES-SON-R ... 3ccb785734

i assume that it is one of the carp rod versions not the avon but if it is exactly 10ft then am i right that it is two inches short also why would you have two different top sections with different thickness and eye locations is one top the stepped up version and one standard? any views gentlemen

regards

bjp

GloucesterOldSpot

Re: slightly puzzled but hey i'm a beginner

Post by GloucesterOldSpot »

Firstly, the length quoted is almost certainly what is actually written on the rod and relates to the generally accepted length of a MkIV; the fact that most B James examples actually come out a little longer is a peculiarity of that brand. I have two B James MkIVs, both about 2 inches over ten feet, whereas my Constable Forty Fore is ten feet exactly, as is my Southwell, but my J.B.Walker MkIV Avon is ten feet four inches - yet both MkIV and Avon are generally considered ten footers. I don't think this one is missing anything - both tips look the same and are the correct amount shorter than the butt.

As for the two tips; whilst it's possible it was a special order, I think it more likely that one of the tips is from another MkIV - probably a later model (the sixties rods are noticeably thicker than the fifties ones and the ring spacing changed slightly). As the butt section looks like a late fifties model it may well be that it has the original tip plus one from a sixties example. The ferrules were stock size for each model so only a carp top would fit the carp butt, unless the ferrule has been changed.

Greentura
Crucian Carp

Post by Greentura »